On June 24, 2020, MSWD adopted Ordinance No. 2020-2, establishing the election of members of the Board of Directors by five divisions, establishing the boundaries and identification number of each division, and establishing the election order of each division.

The Adoption of the Ordinance was the final step in the transition to by-division elections as per the California Voting Rights Act (CVRA) process. Map 2 with five divisions has been approved by the MSWD Board of Directors and the County Registrar of Voters.

MSWD currently has an at-large system allowing customers to elect all five members of the Board of Directors. Elections by division - also referred to as districts - apportions the service area into five divisions with customers voting only for candidates from within their own division.

Three of the five divisions will be up for election in November 2020. Those are Divisions 2, 3, and 4. The remaining seats, Divisions 1 and 5, will be up for election in 2022.
Nancy Wright, Term Expires: 2022
Division: 1

Randy Duncan, Term Expires: 2020
Division: 2

Russ Martin, Term Expires: 2020
Division: 3

Ivan Sewell, Term Expires: 2020
Division: 4

Steve Grasha, Term Expires: 2022
Division: 5
Click here to see Final Adopted Division Map.

What division do you live in? Check out our interactive map tool here.
Maps (presented to the Board)
By-Division Elections Calendar



March 2019

MSWD Board adopts Resolution of Intention to begin transition to by-division elections.

Tuesday, January 21, 2020

1st Public Hearing (no maps)

Tuesday, February 18, 2020

2nd Public Hearing (no maps)

Tuesday, June 16, 2020

3rd Public Hearing (with maps)

Wednesday, June 24, 2020

Public Hearing No. 4 & Final board adoption (if no map changes)